It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 12/2/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

IMWAYR

If you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

I took the long weekend off from blogging and, for the most part, social media in general. I didn’t do as much reading as I anticipated, but I did enjoy connecting with family and friends 🙂

Last Week’s Books:

swaggerI received my print copy of Swagger in the mail, so I was able to finish it. As I said last week, I knew that the assistant basketball coach was not the great guy everyone first thought he was. Throughout the book, he takes actions that just don’t sit well with the reader, and so it is no surprise when it is revealed that he has been sexually abusing one of his high school basketball players. Although the main character, Jonas, is not the victim, it is his good friend Levi, who is soft-spoken, quiet, religious and attending tutoring sessions with his abuser, Ryan Hartnell. When Levi finally confides in Jonas, it is a few days before their state championship game. Ashamed, Levi does not want to alert his minister father or the authorities. Jonas knows he must do what’s right even though it will jeopardize his college scholarship, as Hartnell helped him cheat in his Chemistry class. When Levi commits suicide, Jonas follows through with his plan to report Hartnell, so that no one else will become his victim. Deuker handles this timely and disturbing issue expertly, and readers will agonize with Jonas as he mourns the abuse and death of his friend and courageously chooses to live out his values.

a monster callsIt seems that this week was all about reading books that elicited a strong emotional response from me. I knew that A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness was about a boy dealing with his mother’s cancer just based on what I had read about it. However, until I read it myself, I had no idea how powerfully and hauntingly beautiful it would be. Whenever I read the book, I was immersed completely into Conor’s world of dreams and waking nightmares. This is an amazing work for readers of middle-grade and teen fiction, and one that clearly shows the impact of what an individual reader brings to the work an author has created. In his author’s note at the beginning of the book, Ness informs readers that the characters, premise, and beginning of the book were the creation of Siobhan Dowd, who died before being able to write it. So now I am planning to read the four books that Dowd did write–and to do it soon.

Currently Reading:

Fotor1201205327

On Deck:

Fotor1201205944

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 12/2/13

Leave a Reply

