It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/25/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

IMWAYR

If you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

Last Week’s Books:

reading-in-the-wildI finished Donalyn Miller’s Reading in the Wild, but I know that it is a book I will refer back to again and again. It is most certainly the best professional book I have read in several years, and I will now recommend it most vehemently to all of the literature teachers in my school as well as the other middle school teachers who have been assigned to small group reading interventions this year.

ten thingsTen Things I Hate about Me by Randa Abdel-Fattah is the story of tenth grader Jamilah. She is of Lebanese Muslim descent and lives in Australia. She hides her background from her classmates, where there is tension between Anglo students and students from diverse backgrounds. She dyes her hair blond, calls herself “Jamie,” and avoids more than casual friendships so she can keep her secret. Over the course of the year, Jamilah/Jamie battles her traditional father for independence, is caught between the attentions of popular, prejudiced Peter and indifferent social outcast Timothy, and forms an e-mail friendship with “John,” to whom she spills all of her secrets. Readers will agonize over Jamilah/Jamie’s problems, be proud of her as she begins to make choices that are more true to herself, and figure out long before Jamilah/Jamie does that Timothy and John are the same person. Abdel-Fattah’s story is carefully crafted and is sure to interest and inspire many students.

Currently Reading:

swaggerWell, I will resume reading Swagger by Carl Deuker soon, anyway. I am relatively new to both e-galleys and the Bluefire Reader app, and so I totally missed seeing the “expiration date” for this book (which was yesterday). I was far enough in to know I wanted to buy it, and so I am (impatiently) waiting for Amazon to deliver it on Wednesday. I was also far enough in to know that Assistant Coach Hartnell is up to no good and that this story is about to take a very ugly turn.

It Cant Be True

I am just taking on It Can’t Be True!The Book of Incredible Visual Comparisons, a DK book. I am reviewing it for Library Media Connection, so I am honor-bound not to say much about it until the review appears in print. I can say that I received a very nice-looking slew of books from them last week. If you are a librarian, please consider signing up to review for them. You are able to choose those subject areas which are of interest to you, and you will receive books three to four times a year, with plenty of time to submit your reviews.

On Deck–for the holiday weekend, which will include four days off and a 2-1/2-ish hour drive:

Fotor1124235533The Clockwork Three by Matthew J. Kirby
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/25/13

  1. The Book Whisperer is one of my absolute favourites. I already asked our librarian to purchase Reading in the Wild for my course. Very excited to read it soonest. 🙂

  2. Enjoy those TBR books — I loved A Monster Calls (read it via the Cybils last year), and enjoyed The Clockwork Three, which I read as part of my quest to read a book of each shelf in my local library. I have out Navigating Early as part of the same quest.

    I also liked Ten Things I Hate About Me, but I like the feel of most things Australian so it had a big boost there. And I want to read Reading in the Wild even though I’m not a teacher.

  3. Everyone who has read A Monster Calls has loved it, so I am surprised it has been sitting on my Shelfari plan-to-read shelf for so long. Today I have 2+ hours to ride in a car so I plan to spend some time with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

