Friday is for Celebrating Successes! 11/22/13

Yes, work life is filled with things that don’t go as planned, things that are out of our control, and things we wish we could change but can’t (yet anyway). But not on Friday! Friday is not only for wrapping up the week and looking forward to the weekend, it is also for celebrating successes!

This Week’s Success #1: Shared a PD Title with District Administration

During our superintendent’s and assistant superintendent’s routine walk-through, I happened to have Reading in the Wild by Donalyn Miller at my desk. The district literacy coach and I gushed about it, and it looks like we will be able to do a book study with teachers at my school. Since Reader’s Workshop is our curriculum, the book is a perfect fit!

This Week’s Success #2: A Special Request from my Intervention Group

One of my groups asked to go on a field trip to the public library! These are students reading a couple of years below grade level, so I am thrilled they want to do this! I write more about it in a guest post for Kirby Larson’s blog, which will appear Tuesday–stay tuned.

This Week’s Success #3: Launching Tornado Relief Campaign

The recent tornadoes in Illinois have devastated many communities. Washington, IL is only 32 miles from my school. From now until Winter Break, all library fines collected will be donated to provide new books for students who need them. In addition, the student council and I are launching a book drive next week–stay tuned for more on that, too.

Leave a Reply

