It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 11/11/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

IMWAYR

If you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

Last Week’s Books:

Fotor1103195410

I finished all my planned books this week and even started another one!

Chuck Close: Face Book is a fabulous informational text that I wrote about in Saturday’s Book Share.

Never Say Die by Will Hobbs is just what I expected it would be: an engaging (and sometimes nail-biting) adventure with a healthy dose of environmental information/advocacy woven into it. This time the story features Nick Thrasher, an Inuit teen whose older half-brother, Ryan, convinces him to go on a wildlife photography trip down the Firth River in Arctic Canada. Their journey is fraught with peril, especially when a grolar bear (polar-grizzly hybrid) appears on the scene. As always, Hobbs has created an exciting middle school title.

Wild Animal Neighbors: Sharing our Urban World by Ann Downer gives young people a look at a variety of animals that have started living in cities and suburban areas. Downer explores what has caused animals to move into these areas and what people are doing to make room for and live with these animals or what people are doing to prevent them from staying. This book packs a lot of information, photographs, maps, and charts into its 64 pages, and does so in a way that will keep students’ attention. It also provides all the supporting features librarians and teachers look for in informational texts: a healthy index, detailed source notes, a selected bibliography and suggestions for further reading that promote online as well as print resources. And it pairs great with Never Say Die.

Next Week’s Planned Reading:

Currently Reading:

reading-in-the-wild

I preordered Reading in the Wild by Donalyn Miller (the Book Whisperer) some time ago. A couple of days before publication, Mr. Schu of Watch. Connect. Read. fame started tweeting quotes from it, and I grew impatient for it to arrive. FINALLY, I started devouring the book on Tuesday, and I had to stop myself from speed reading it–forcing myself to savor it over time. I am glad I did as I get to enjoy new parts of it this week, too. While reading, I find myself nodding my head so much I wonder if I’m going to hurt my neck like back in my head-banging concert-going days. Yes, it is THAT good. Yes, it puts into words what we wild readers know to be true about ourselves.  Yes, all people who care about connecting kids and books should read it. Yes, yes, yes!

Oh, and there has been a blog tour for Reading in the Wild, so you can see what wonderful things others (who finished it already) have said about it and what they have found most important to share.  Mr Schu hosted the 11/10 stop and provides links to previous stops at the bottom of his post 5,4,3,2,1 Interview – Donalyn Miller.

 On Deck: 

Fotor1110210738

The Unforgotten Coat by Frank Cottrell Boyce, One for the Murphys by Lynda Mullaly Hunt, and Swagger by Carl Deuker

Finally, I thought I would share my Facebook status for the day, as it is wholly appropriate here:

Capture13

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 11/11/13

  1. LOL, I’ve decided to review Reading in the Wild chapter by chapter on my blog because I have too many things I want to say about each chapter! I’m really enjoyed it as well and can’t wait to put it into the hands of all my pre-service teachers. Wild Animal Neighbors sounds fascinating–will probably have to order that one! Thanks for sharing.

  2. I really hope Reading in the Wild reaches us here in Singapore soonest. I love Book Whisperer – so beautifully written. I know that Miller’s new book would be just as inspiring. I have a few Frank Cottrell Boyce titles that are lying unread in my shelves, I know I should get to them soon. Thanks for sharing all these! 🙂

Leave a Reply

