Friday is for Celebrating Successes! 11/8/13

Yes, work life is filled with things that don’t go as planned, things that are out of our control, and things we wish we could change but can’t (yet anyway). But not on Friday! Friday is not only for wrapping up the week and looking forward to the weekend, it is also for celebrating successes!

This Week’s Success #1: Independent Reading

Now that I have one cycle under my belt, I am (a bit) more comfortable with my role as a reading interventionist. This cycle, I am mixing things up a bit–using a prescribed set of books with only one class, while the other two classes read a novel or a book of short stories. And I have promised myself (and my students–although they don’t know it) that I will dedicate one day per week to independent reading. My thinking was that this practice would marry my new-this-year responsibilities to my traditional ones and would allow me to address the students’ reading in a more complete sense. And then my copy of Donalyn Miller’s Reading in the Wild came, and I only had to read the introduction to know I was doing the right thing for my students 🙂  It’s the best PD book I have read in years–go get it!

And so today all my students focused on choosing books, and I introduced most of them to EBSCO’s readers advisory tool, NoveList. Another student and I explored how to preview books, and he chose to try something besides books in the Goosebumps series. A truly great day!

This Week’s Success #2: Money, Money, Money, Money–MONEY!

Although this is not necessarily a success of mine, it is definitely worth celebrating that I received an email today that says the district is providing the secondary school libraries with some money for books! I have to spend it within the next 12 days, but I think I’ll manage 😉 I’ll be starting with sequels that the students have been begging for….

Leave a Reply

