Friday is for Celebrating Successes! 10/25/13

Yes, work life is filled with things that don’t go as planned, things that are out of our control, and things we wish we could change but can’t (yet anyway). But not on Friday! Friday is not only for wrapping up the week and looking forward to the weekend, it is also for celebrating successes!

This Week’s Success #1: The Rush of New Books

Because I am teaching four sections of reading interventions, cataloging is falling by the wayside. But sometimes you just MUST get a new book (or two) out on the shelves! So yesterday, I made time to catalog my four copies of Veronica Roth’s Allegiant and two copies of Rick Rirodan’s House of Hades. I displayed them on my counter right in front of the check-out computer. There was not much traffic for 8th hour before a three-day weekend, but the books didn’t even last five minutes! Two office monitors were walking the hallway, and one caught the books out of the corner of his eye. As soon as they left, another girl ran in, out of breath, saying, “I heard you have IT!” And the rest of the copies went out almost immediately. GREAT WAY TO END THE DAY!

This Week’s Success #2: First Round of Reading Interventions = Done

This year has been a HUGE change for me, and I am relieved to have the first round of interventions under my belt. We have a data day on Monday, and there’s a possibility I will not be needed for all four sections this next time around. Next week is an “off” week, so I have scheduled literature classes in for booktalks and check-out all week. YES!!!!!

This Week’s Success #3: Time for More Cataloging

As soon as this post is done, I will catalog for the rest of the day. Yes, I am excited about it because then next week there will be lots of new books to excite my students (see This Week’s Success #1)

This post is done 🙂

Leave a Reply

