Friday is for Celebrating Successes! 10/18/13

Yes, work life is filled with things that don’t go as planned, things that are out of our control, and things we wish we could change but can’t (yet anyway). But not on Friday! Friday is not only for wrapping up the week and looking forward to the weekend, it is also for celebrating successes!

This Week’s Success #1: Barnes & Noble Fair Means New Books

The four junior highs in my district hosted a B&N  Book Fair on Saturday. That meant spending about 11 hours at the table (well, and also at the cafe and in the stacks and reading Fortunately, the Milk). In addition to having great conversations with families and teachers, I got book donations from four families, and I was able to use gift cards to purchase everything else on my (realistic) wish list. That means students will get to read these next-in-a-series books: The Sacrifice by Charlie Higson, Fire & Ash by Jonathan Maberry, House of Hades by Rick Riordan, and more. They also get treated to books I read as e-galleys that are out in print such as: Will in Scarlet by Matthew Cody and Inhuman by Kat Falls and Ghost Prison by Joseph Delaney. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Of course, I have now set myself up for a cataloging marathon….

This Week’s Success #2: 6th Grade Booktalk Magic

Hunt for the seventhOn Wednesday morning before school started, I was playing Pandora’s Halloween Party channel throughout the library. I left it on to welcome a 6th grade class to my room. As soon as they started walking in the door, the instrumental version of “Ghostbusters” started playing.

A few kids were starting to hum along so when everyone got in the room, I just yelled out “WHO YA GONNA CALL?”

They sang back, “GHOSTBUSTERS!”

And then I said, “I can tell you who really needs the Ghostbusters. It’s this boy Jim, in this book called Hunt for the Seventh by Christine Morton-Shaw. You see, he lives at this giant old estate with immense gardens and creepy statues, and he’s been seeing ghosts everywhere….”

What an amazing set-up! Had to be Fate. Or Magic.

And when it was time to check out, the students RAN to the table to check out that title and the other creepy books I talked. That’s always a great way to start a day!

This Week’s Success #3: Sharing Professional Articles

I love it when I read something and immediately think of five people who MUST READ THIS RIGHT NOW! That happened a few times this week, and so I shared:

  • Neil Gaiman’s amazing lecture for The Reading Agency given on Monday, 10/14.  It is a brilliant piece, and I have been urging everyone who loves reading or children or libraries or any combination of those things to read it. It is difficult to pick a favorite quote; today I think it is this: “Do not discourage children from reading because you feel they are reading the wrong thing. Fiction you do not like is a route to other books you may prefer. And not everyone has the same taste as you.”
  • A guest post  by Sarah Andersen over on Stacked about reader’s advisory in the classroom. I wish I could rewind to the beginning of the school year and start a reading life display. Maybe I will start one up when 2014 begins.
  • Ralph Fletcher’s Bringing Boys into your Reading Community is great food for thought. And I will consider his points when planning the writing unit for my intervention groups.
  • Another guest post about RA on Stacked, this time by Molly Wetta, which I sent to all the Literature teachers at my school. She has some crazy-good ideas about creating graphics for passive RA.

Hope you found something to celebrate this week, too!

Leave a Reply

