It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/7/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

IMWAYR

If you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

Last Week’s Books = This Week’s Books

Well,  I didn’t finish a single book last week 😦  The Scholastic book fair took up all my planning time so I had to make that up at home which meant less time for reading. It was a busy weekend, and one in which Blackhawks hockey and #AddaWordRuinaMovie distracted me from books.

Celebrating Successes this Week:

The Book Fair:

My book fair did very well! My gotta-be-in-control nature made me nervous about leaving the book fair in parent hands while I was in another room teaching–even though a trusted friend was there most of the time. But everything went smoothly, and students enjoyed themselves and the books and all those other crazy pens and things they love to buy.

Most popular books at the Fair?

Spirit Animals Book 1: Wild Born by Brandon Mull, Gaby, Lost and Found by Anglea Cervantes, Buddy by H.M. Herlong, Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender. In short, they were the ones featured in the preview video, which keeps getting better and better.

Best thing about the fair?

All the new books I get to add to the library’s collection. This is the primary way I will get new books this year since my budget from the district is $0. I was glad there were so many wonderful new hardcovers to choose from including Mike Lupica’s QB1, and Kirby Larson’s Duke. Plus I picked up a second copy of The One and Only Ivan since EVERYONE wants to read it.

Family Book Donations:

Our PTO has a wonderful Teacher Support Coordinator who posts teacher wish list items to Jooners and mails it out to interested families. We can request anything from office supplies to healthy snacks to books. What a great idea! So I recently submitted a list of 10 titles, and I had families agree to donate all but one. Other families signed up to donate Barnes & Noble or Amazon gift cards, so I can definitely see a couple of book orders on the horizon! I am definitely blessed to belong to a school community with parents who are eager to help out in any way they can. And the coordinator wants another list in the middle of the month!!!

The Manga/Anime Club:

I sponsor the Manga/Anime Club, but a team of four 8th grade girls do all the planning, and they do a wonderful job! There were about 40 students at our second meeting. about 2/3 of the group watched an episode of  Fullmetal Alchemist. While the other 1/3 spread out in the hallway to work on drawing manga. There were even a few impromptu how-to sessions led by talented members of the group. I love being with students who have such passion about their interests!

STILL Currently Reading:

willscarletA great read so far….

STILL On Deck:

Fotor0929210351

Surely I will make it this week, won’t I???

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/7/13

  1. I am talking book fair reads on my #IMWAYR too but my blog publishes at midnight. My book fair covers preschool-high school reads since I cater to teacher education student at the university level in addition to my elementary/ middle school. You are right about Spirit Animals and Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer. Shadow and Bone also sells well. I didn’t receive Duke yet so I will call and request it. I do a lot of special requesting. Hope your fair did well. I opened last Thursday night and continue to Oct. 11th.

    1. I was amazed that in the current economy my Fair saw a significant increase in sales over last Fall. So much so that I got almost a $200 bonus in Scholastic dollars! You must have a gigantic Fair to cover all of those levels!

  2. Nikki Grimes is a favourite. I love her novels-in-verse. The book fair sounds like a lot of fun. We also have an ongoing book fair here in Singapore – it’s being done across several malls. Will blog about it soon. 🙂

  3. Like Myra, I love Nikki Grimes, so this new one is a must read. And Joan Bauer is another favorite – she just gets middle school, doesn’t she?

  4. I love the idea of celebrating all your successes in this post. I may have to steal that one! It sounds like you had a great book fair. I am also loving the idea for a Manga/Anime club. I have a lot of students who would love that club! Have a great reading week!

    1. Thanks, Andrea. This has been a challenging start to the year for me, filled with lots of change. I think it will help me to reflect on all the good, so I’m thinking of a regular Thursday or Friday post to celebrate successes 🙂 I am thinking of writing about the club soon, too, as it is student-led, and I am so proud of my 8th graders!

Leave a Reply

