It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/30/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

IMWAYR

If you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

Last Week’s Books:

Fotor092920579

Four books this week means I am getting back to my normal average for the school year! Planning for these intervention classes is getting to be more routine and manageable, so that’s better….

Chupacabra by Roland Smith is sure to delight fans of his books. Not only does it recount another exciting adventure in the lives of Grace and Marty, but it also manages to tie their three books into JaguarSasquatch, and more. And he did it on purpose (of course), as he tells us on his Facebook fan page!

Frances O’Roark Dowell’s The Second Life of Abigail Walker was wonderful magical realism, as I expected, but I did not expect that it would be an important book about bullying and the power of standing up for oneself. The best thing about that? Its subtlety.

Oh, how I was waiting for Anne Ursu’s The Real Boy. I started hearing about it this summer and was jealous of all the ARC readers. However, as I tweeted, I “went dark,” just as I did for Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane this summer–refusing to read reviews of it because I wanted an untainted experience. And Anne Ursu favorited my tweet, which was an awesome author-swoon moment. I found The Real Boy to be a beautiful book and a clever book and a book that so, so many people should read or have read aloud to them. They deserve to know Oscar, and know about Oscar, and know about how Oscar perceives his world. I love this book as much as I love Breadcrumbs. Anne Ursu has won my heart.

I can see David Lubar’s Numbed! (published tomorrow) becoming a favorite among math teachers and kids who love numbers. A short book for the middle-grade set, it recounts what happens to best friends Logan and Benedict when all of their math knowledge (even basic addition!) is permanently “numbed” by a combination of robot attack and slushie brain-freeze. In order to get their math brains back before the big test, they must solve a slew of challenges at the Mobius Mathematics Museum. I could see math teachers reading this book in order to introduce some new concepts in a fun way. Not sure all of his fans will love this as much as they love the Weenies books, though.

This Week’s Books:

Currently Reading: 

willscarlet

The author of Powerless takes on the origin story of Robin Hood?  Yes, please! Reading e-galley, due to be published soon–October 8th.

On Deck:

Fotor0929210351I spent a lot of time this summer on YA books, so I am beefing up my 6th grade novel pool by reading Planet Middle School by Nikki Grimes and Almost Home by Joan Bauer.  Although Almost Home will be an easy sell since it is featured at my Scholastic Book Fair this week, and the folks at Scholastic have provided a dynamite trailer for it as part of their middle school fair video.

Related articles

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/30/13

  1. The Real Boy sounds like a Newbery contender for next year. I fell in love with Frances O’Roark Dowell’s writing with her Dovey Coe which I enjoyed greatly, will look for this one too. Sounds like something I’d love too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

