It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/23/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

IMWAYR

If you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

Last Week’s Books:

pushbooks923I wrote about Inhuman in detail here. I am excited about the start of this new series by Kat Falls.

Saving Zasha by Randi Barrow is a solid historical fiction offering for middle graders. It offers a fresh perspective of WWII: soon after the war, a Russian boy encounters a dying man and his dog. He is surprised to even see a German Shepard, for during the war Russians were so distrustful of anything German that dogs of German origin were put to death. In order to take care of Zasha, the family puts itself at great risk.  Although the risks are real and make the reader nervous, there is a very happy ending all around–even the father, who was presumed dead by many, is reunited with his family at the end. If readers want more of Zasha’s story, they can read the prequel, Finding Zasha.

This Week’s Books:

Currently Reading:

ipuushbooks4

Last week I started one print book, one e-galley, and one read-aloud.

Chupacabra will be officially released Tuesday; however, Roland Smith and others are showing off their finds at bookstores that jumped the gun a little early. I think I will get it finished in time to still be able to say I read it early 😉 Chupacabra is the sequel to Tentacles and will definitely satisfy readers who enjoy the adventures of Marty and Grace.

I love Frances O’Roark Dowell. I especially love the beginnings of her books. I am loving The Second Life of Abigail Walker. I especially love the fox. If you haven’t read this yet, I am betting you will love it, too.

My (at home) read-aloud is Absolute Midnight by Clive Barker, the last book in the Abarat series. If you have not read this dark fantasy series, what are are you waiting for???  Speaking of waiting, I waited seven years for Absolute Midnight to come out (along with other fans), and then I had to wait another two years because right when Absolute Midnight was released, my son expressed an interest in the series. He was nine, and I thought our bedtime reading would soon be done so I agreed that we would read the series together and I would save the last book for us to share. And anyway, that would refresh me on the series, too. Because of our schedule, we don’t read every night so we just finished Days of Magic, Nights of War a couple of nights ago. My son is 11 now, and I love that he still loves reading with me. Our journey with Absolute Midnight began at 9:00 pm last night. I am sure it will last for many months, so just assume it’s in my “Currently Reading” pile even if I fail to mention on a regular basis how great it is and how exquisite Barker’s accompanying illustrations are.

On Deck:

ipushbooks3

In the continuing trend of one e-galley /one print book, these are next up. I hope to get through everything this week (except Absolute Midnight of course), as my lesson plans are done and my evening commitments are limited.

What’s up in your reading world?

One more thing: trying out a related articles feature. I have no affiliation with these bloggers below–I just read their posts and liked what I saw.

Shall I continue this feature? Yea or Nay?

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/23/13

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE Abarat. I’m waiting for the final book to come out though before I re-read Books 1 and 2 (I already have a copy of Book 3). Candy Quackenbush is a favourite character. Can’t wait to find Chupacabra as well.

Leave a Reply

