It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/9/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s and YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR (to be read) pile.

IMWAYR

If you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

Last Week’s Books:

HOLDFAST

Sometimes you find the right book at exactly the right time. This week Hold Fast by Blue Balliett was exactly that book. I started writing a post about it, but it wound up being a post about me–an important one. You can check it out here.  And here’s another reason why it was a great book for right now. Earlier this week over at The Nerdy Book Club Blog, JoEllen McCarthy wrote about heartprint books. Yeah, this definitely qualifies.

So I thought I was going to have to say that I read only one book this week and that I needed to up that to at least two next week. And then I remembered that I can count ALL books, not just YA and middle grade books.

IMG_5318

I read eight picture books that I will be using in my small-group reading intervention classes that I begin teaching this week: Train to Nowhere by Eve Bunting, Dandelions by Eve Bunting, Enemy Pie by Derek Munson, Me and Uncle Romie by Claire Heartfield, Baseball Saved Us by Ken Mochizuki, The Memory String by Eve Bunting, Nim and the War Effort by Milly Lee, and Albert by Donna Jo Napoli.  And so it wasn’t skimming picture books–it was reading picture books–and taking notes on them and figuring out reading strategies to focus on, etc., etc.  Also WOW, it has been a long time since I was a children’s librarian (at the public library–yep, story hour and everything) so I almost forgot how AWESOME Eve Bunting is. Heartprint book after heartprint book, JoEllen….

I also finished Teach Like a Pirate by Dave Burgess. It has been getting a lot of buzz as a great professional read, and while I can say that I really enjoyed it, I did not find anything earth-shattering inside. To me a lot of it had to do with doing interesting things to capture students’ attention and finding the best ways to make your lessons accessible to students. I think librarians who work with children and young adults and who do programming use this approach all the time. Also, lots of junior high / middle school teachers operate in this fashion. The high school teachers always swear that we must be crazy to work with this age of students. Still, all that said, I would definitely recommend this book to student teachers and young teachers–who can tend to be so focused on getting all the content in that they often forget to let loose, have fun, and, in turn, better engage students.

Next Week’s Books:

Currently Reading:

inhumanMy Kindle app says that I am 23% finished with Inhuman by Kat Falls. I still have to get used to no page numbers for e-galleys. I have to say that it really starts off with a bang, and I am intrigued by the Farae plague that resulted in America building a wall to cut off everything east of the Mississippi and calling that area a total loss. More on this next week….

On Deck:

Saving Zasha

Saving Zasha by Randi Barrow

chupacabra

Chupacabra by Roland Smith, an e-galley
The book will be published on 9/24
Hope it is on my Scholastic Book Fair

Whew! Loooooonnnngggg post. What are YOU reading?

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/9/13

  1. I am with you on Hold Fast. I just loved it. I don’t feel like it has received the recognition it deserves. All your picture books look interesting. I have never read an Eve Bunting book, but I will now 🙂 Have a great week!

  2. I am also a huge fan of Eve Bunting but some of the titles you shared here are unfamiliar to me. Will definitely try to find them in our library. I think I have a personal copy of Baseball Saved Us. I’ve also been reading a lot of great things about Chupacabra. Have a great reading week!

Leave a Reply

