It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/2/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s and YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR (to be read) pile.

IMWAYR

If you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

Last Week’s Book:

invasion

Invasion by Walter Dean Myers is a companion to Fallen Angels and Sunrise over Fallujah. This historical fiction novel takes place during the D-Day invasion of World War II. For me, the book started out a bit slow. It seemed that I was about 25% through it before the characters seemed to come alive enough for me to connect to them. Before that, I felt there was a lot of background information spat out by various soldiers and officers to “set” the time and place of the novel. Once that character connection was made, however, I was deeply affected by Myers’ profound insight into soldiers’ emotions, fears, dreams and the horrors of war. In his afterward, Myers explains how he wove the fictional Perry family through all three books and recounts some of his interviews with veterans.

Those who work with middle school/junior high school students should be aware that soldiers use authentic language in appropriate context. I would categorize this as a YA book, and my collection development policy allows for the addition of materials reviewed for ages 14 and up or grades 8 and up, with reviews for support. Therefore, I will add it to my shelves when it appears on the Scholastic Book Fair.

This Week’s Planned Books:

HOLDFAST

I am not a giant fan of mysteries, but I am a fan of Blue Balliett, so it surprises me that even though Hold Fast has been in my collection for a while I have not read it yet. I am remedying that this week so they don’t take the “Chicago” off my birth certificate 😉

inhumanI am also excited to read the e-galley of Inhuman by Kat Falls. And we only have to wait until 9/24 to add it to our shelves!

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/2/13

  1. I haven’t read any of these, so thank you for the recommendations! Our school goes up to 6th grade, so some “young” YA books are appropriate for our collection. It sounds like Hold Fast might be one to check out. Thanks!

    1. Yes, I am halfway into Hold Fast now and loving it. It is a solid middle grade book. There is a mystery to it and it is set in Chicago, like Balliett’s other books, but it also paints a vivid picture of a loving family enduring homelessness. And I haven’t solved the mystery yet so I am off to read more very soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

