It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/26/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s and YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR (to be read) pile.

IMWAYR

If you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

…Well, another week where my Monday post is my only post–must be a busy start to the school year (sigh)…. Seriously, though, I am hoping to get back into the reading groove now that textbook distribution is complete, my room is looking reasonably good, and I am done preparing for and helping out with my 17-year-old daughter and her friends’ first-ever craft show booth.

Also, last week I learned that my budget for the year is ZERO, except for subscription databases and a little for supplies. So NO MONEY FOR NEW BOOKS. Looks like I will be relying on my Scholastic Book Fair more than ever. I am also on the PTO agenda for their first meeting, and I have scheduled a joint Barnes and Noble  Book Fair with the other three junior high libraries in my district as we ALL (including high school and elementary) have ZERO book money. I know I have been very fortunate to receive a healthy budget in the past, while other school libraries have had little or no money for years. But this situation is so new to me that I am overwhelmed at the moment.

Last Week in Books AND This Week’s Planned Books:

I *barely* (as in less than 10 pages) started reading the e-galley of Walter Dean Myers’ Invasion.  Like I said, my plan is to get reading again this week, and hopefully, hopefully have a post about it in a few days. At this point, I don’t want to set my sights higher than that. Oh, and the good news is that Scholastic is publishing Invasion, so I could actually get it with my fair’s book profit 🙂

invasion

P.S. If anyone has innovative ideas for getting more money for books through fundraising or other means–or for getting books for free, I am all ears! I have been doing some searching online, etc., but it is always good to hear success stories right from the source.

Leave a Reply

