It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/12/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s and YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR (to be read) pile.

imwayr image

If you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

Last Week in Books:

countingAn essential purchase for middle school libraries. Read my review for Counting by 7s here and look for it on August 29th.

starwarsI received the William Shakespeare’s Star Wars ARC in May, and the book has already been published. It was a very enjoyable read because I am a Star Wars fan and a Shakespeare fan. It is published by Quirk, who also brought us Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, which I thought was just OK. I figured out early on that there was too much Austen and not enough zombie action for me. Although I appreciate her craft, Austen’s subject matter just doesn’t interest me much (I don’t watch chick flicks either) so this recent book is a better match to my interests.

William Shakespeare’s Star Wars was quite enjoyable. I could play the movie in my head while reading, and I loved Doescher’s little touches for fans. For example, R2D2 speaks in beeps to all the characters, but his asides to the audience are in (old) English. When the droid first plays Leia’s message, Doescher provides foreshadowing, much like Shakespeare would have; Luke says,

–I wonder who she is.
Whoever she may be, whatever is
Her cause, unto her pleas I shall respond.
Not e’en were she my sister would I know
A duty of more weight than I feel now.

Upon Killing Greedo and exiting the cantina, Han’s aside is ” And whether I shot first, I’ll ne’er confess!” An awesome line for fans! That said, the book is not something I think I need to purchase for my middle school library. Many students have an interest in Star Wars, but they also have not been much exposed to Shakespeare and so would not appreciate it fully. If I was at the high school level, it would be a definite purchase.

This Week’s Planned Books:

TANDEM by Anna JarzabI did not get to Tandem by Anna Jarzab last week, but it is a multiverse book,  and I am excited to read it this week.

I am planning on only one book this week, as I head back to school on Thursday. We have three institute days to start. I have to say that going back is bittersweet this year. I still do not know how many periods I will be in the library because I have been given new reading interventionist responsibilities. It could be as little as only  two periods doing the job I was hired for and have done passionately for seventeen years. I will find out more about my schedule this week. I do know that the library will not be staffed, and most likely completely closed, when I am teaching intervention groups. My budget will be cut as well. I find out by how much tomorrow.

I know this has happened to so many librarians across the country, and that many are teaching full-time while their former libraries sit empty. I always thought two things: 1) How awful for them, the teachers, and the students and 2) This could never happen to me. I (sadly) stand corrected.

Last spring I advocated to the best of my abilities for maintaining full library services, and so did many others (this is happening at all four middle schools in my district). We were respectfully listened to, but the decision has remained the same. I fear that our students will suffer greatly without full library access and a person whose life-long mission is to connect them to books and to help them to navigate and make sense of information. At this point, my hope is for as many hours in the library as possible and that when the district’s financial situation improves, full-time interventionists will be hired and library services will be restored.

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/12/13

  1. I ordered that Star Wars book for my collection. Can’t wait to read it! I am interested to hear more about Tandem. Anna Jarzab has such variety in her works and I have enjoyed her previous books. I imagine this will be a great read as well. Have a great week!

  2. LOVED Shakespeare’s SW! But I’m in an elementary school so it was just for me.
    I like Jane Austen, though, too. Funny that way. No pink or princesses but big time SW geek and JA fan. It’s all good! Must go double check that I have Counting by 7s on my TBR list.

Leave a Reply

