It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/22/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Shelia at Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s and YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR (to be read) pile. I plan to keep it to titles for young people, with an occasional book for grown ups thrown in if I find it relevant.

imwayr imageIf you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

Last Week in Books:

smallHomeland_Jun_19_2012

WOW, what a book! You can read more about it in my post, Dystopia is Now.

Ask My Mood Ring How I Feel

I can’t say much about Ask My Mood Ring How I Feel by Diana Lopez until my review comes out. Suffice it to say that the book is much deeper than the cover suggests and is about a preteen whose mother is diagnosed with breast cancer.

This Week’s Planned Books:

I am a NetGalley newbie and recently got approved to access three ARCs! This is great timing because this week I am traveling light (and by train!) with my daughter to visit colleges in New York and Boston, and I can take the iPad instead of print books.

goblins

death_king

I think  I will start with Goblins by Phillip Reeve since it is due out first (August 27). Then I will move on to Death of a King  by Andrew H. Vanderwall. I do not know this author, but it is a time-travel novel set in Scotland at the time of William Wallace. Alba gu bràth!

In addition, I have two FREE audiobooks to listen to, as I do not sleep well in moving vehicles of any sort (and we are in coach on Amtrak): The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater and Rotters by Daniel Kraus.

raven boys RottersPBTilt

Leave a Reply

