It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/8/13

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Shelia at Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s and YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR (to be read) pile. I plan to keep it to titles for young people, with an occasional book for grown ups thrown in if I find it relevant.

imwayr image

If you click the image above, then you can connect to other participating blogs and discover even more new books.

Last Week in Books:

summer i learned to fly cover

The Summer I learned to Fly by Dana Reinhardt  is somewhat of a quiet book about Drew’s summer before eighth grade. She finds her deceased father’s journal, works at her mother’s cheese shop, and meets a mysterious boy named Emmett. The book is best when it shows Drew just starting to question her mother and think more for herself. I would recommend it to fans of Frances O’Roark Dowell and Waiting for Normal by Leslie Connor. It also made me wonder when historical fiction “starts.” Reinhardt points out that this is the summer of 1986, but I don’t think it really needs to be. Maybe the story would have turned out a bit differently if Drew had had a cell phone (for more on that see my post about Doll Bones), but the 80s setting never seems vital to the story.

Legend book cover

Legend by Marie Lu is not at all a quiet book, but a grand dystopian adventure. I can see why so many students at my school went crazy over it this past year. Day is an especially dashing hero, and June is a pretty bad-ass chick. They make a great team.

According to Lu’s website and an article from MTV last summer a film is coming along. I can really see it is a cool action-adventure flick, and I wonder if it will be market more towards teens or tweens. Only time will tell.

This Week’s Planned Books:

Currently reading:

smallHomeland_Jun_19_2012Finally! I can’t believe I waited so long. I LOVE Cory Doctorow. Note: Homeland is a sequel; you have to read Little Brother first.

Next up:

scarlettScarlet by Marissa Meyer is another sequel, and I usually only get to read those during the summer since I am reading Rebecca Caudill nominees all school year. I have always loved adaptations of the Cinderella fairy tale and The Lunar Chronicles series is no exception

What’s on your reading agenda for the week?

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/8/13

  1. Hello! Nice to see another middle school librarian out there. I’ll be curious to see what you think of the Doctorow– my memory was that it was a little more of a high school book. I’ll be looking forward to seeing what other books you are reading!

  2. Yes! Go middle school! I have Little Brother in my library, but I have a T for Teen sticker on it (like for video games). All four middle schools in my district started that last year so we can provide more options for 8th graders. I do not restrict check-out to only 8th, however. It is important to carefully consider sequels, too, rather than just automatically adding them to the collection.

Leave a Reply

